WHU, Otto Beisheim School of Management
WHU Full-Time MBA
Basics
- Country
- Germany
- City
- Düsseldorf
- Campus(es)
- Düsseldorf
- Parent university
- WHU (private university)
- Selected programme
- WHU Full-Time MBA
- Programme type
- One-year full-time MBA
- Credential awarded
- MBA degree
- Format priority tier
- One-year regular MBA (priority tier 2)
- Language of instruction
- English
- Accreditations
- AACSB, EQUISWeb, Oct 2026
- Research round
- Shortlisted (3 Oct 2026)
- Alternatives considered and rejected
- Kellogg-WHU EMBA is two-year part-time for employed participants
- Selection rationale (full)
Read full evidenceHide
WHU’s Full-Time MBA is 12 months and meets the fallback priority. The Kellogg-WHU Executive MBA is a two-year part-time program, not a one-year or 18-month option, and is designed for participants who continue full-time employment/self-employment. Since the candidate has resigned, the EMBA is a poor practical fit unless she resumes work; the full-time MBA has no published current-employment requirement. WHU expressly accepts GMAT as one route through its Full-Time MBA Excellent Fit Assessment.[48][54]
Timeline and duration
- 2027 intake
- September 2027Inferred
- Start date evidence
- Inferred from last cycle
- Approx. start date
- 1 Sept 2027
- Start details (full)
Read full evidenceHide
Likely September 2027, inferred from the current Full-Time MBA page’s recurring September start and current-cycle application schedule. WHU had not explicitly published a year-specific 2027 Full-Time MBA start date as of October 3, 2026; reconfirm dates and APS/visa deadlines with WHU.[48][49]
- Selected duration
- 12 months
- Duration (months)
- 12 months
- Expected finish
- August 2028Inferred
- Structure
- about 30 days of international modules (Europe, USA)Web, Oct 2026
Application window
- All deadlines
- APS applicants (India): 30 Apr 2027 Visa applicants: 31 May 2027 No visa needed: 15 Jul 2027 [Web: DAAD listing]
- Rounds already closed
- 0 of 3
- Next open deadline
- APS applicants (India), 30 Apr 2027 (201 days)
- Date warnings
- Early-bird discounts depend on earlier deadlines; APS certificate needed by 30 April
GMAT plan
- GMAT route
- Optional (one of five Excellent Fit categories)
- Alternative tests
- GRE, EA, WHU BAT, CFA Level II, PhD and others
- GMAT Focus accepted
- Recommendation not scale-labelled
- Minimum or recommendation
- Recommended 555+ for tests after May 2023 (not a cutoff)
- Policy details (full)
Read full evidenceHide
The current Full-Time MBA policy requires candidates to satisfy one of five Excellent Fit categories; GMAT is expressly accepted in the external-test category, alongside other tests/ certifications. Thus GMAT is a valid route but is not universally mandatory if another category is met. For India, this assessment uses only the GMAT route, not CAT. The current WHU sheet recommends 555 or higher for GMAT tests taken after May 2023, but calls this a recommendation, not a minimum or cutoff.[50]
- Strategic Focus target
- 555+
- Basis of target
- WHU's 555 recommendation (confirm it is Focus)
- Target round
- APS applicants (India), 30 Apr 2027
- Sit GMAT by (final attempt)
- 9 Apr 2027
- First attempt by (with retake buffer)
- 26 Feb 2027
- Target reasoning (full)
Read full evidenceHide
No unambiguous Focus-specific competitive target is published. A transparent provisional target is at least 555 only if WHU confirms that its post-May-2023 recommendation applies to the current GMAT Focus exam; treat 555 as WHU’s recommended level, not an admission floor. WHU publishes no class average/median/range from which to justify a higher numeric target. Emphasize strong section-level performance, especially quantitative and data reasoning, without claiming a cut-off.[47][50]
Score statistics
- Focus average
- Not published
- Focus evidence (full)
Read full evidenceHide
WHU’s September 22, 2026 Excellent Fit sheet recommends 555+ for GMAT tests taken after May 2023. It does not explicitly label that recommendation as GMAT Focus, and it is not a required minimum. No Full-Time MBA cohort GMAT mean/average, median, published range, minimum, or maximum is stated in the current official admissions materials. Do not treat the recommendation as cohort statistics or a cut-off.[50]
- Legacy average
- Not published
- Legacy evidence (full)
Read full evidenceHide
The current WHU policy does not publish a separate legacy-scale GMAT recommendation or a legacy-to-current score conversion. The only stated reference is 555+ for tests taken after May 2023; WHU does not name the scale in the sheet. Do not equate that figure with a legacy GMAT score without written admissions confirmation.[50]
Costs
- Tuition / programme fee
- EUR 49,500
- Tuition in INR (approx)
- INR 54.0 L
- Fee year
- Fee page Oct 2026 (year not stated)
- Application fee
- none listedWeb, Oct 2026
- What the fee includes
- Tuition, books, accommodation and half-board on international modules, German classes
- Fee details (full)
Read full evidenceHide
€49,500 on WHU’s fee page as available on October 3, 2026; the page does not identify a specific 2027 intake/fee year, so confirm before budgeting. Includes tuition, books/ materials, accommodation and half-board during international modules, and German classes. Excludes flights and visa costs for international modules. Published early-bird discounts are conditional on complete applications and deadlines.[51]
- Living cost estimate
- Blocked account minimum EUR 11,904/yr (EUR 992/month); real costs higher
- Living per month (approx INR)
- INR 1.3 L
- Health insurance
- About EUR 120 to 130 per month public insurance
- Visa and travel
- Flights and visas for modules extra
- Living cost basis (full)
Read full evidenceHide
For a 12-month stay in Düsseldorf, WHU’s student-experience page reports the German blocked-account minimum as roughly €11,904/year (€992/month), last updated September 2024. This is a national visa-maintenance floor, not a Düsseldorf-specific living-cost estimate; actual rent and living expenses can be higher. WHU separately gives public health-insurance costs of about €120–130/month for international students over 30 or using that option.[49][51]
- Estimated total (approx INR)
- INR 69.7 L
- Scholarships
- Scholarship for Women in Business, diversity, professional-experience awards
Rankings and strengths
- QS Global MBA
- #58 (QS Global MBA 2027)
- Ranking details (full)
Read full evidenceHide
QS Global MBA Rankings 2027: WHU (Otto Beisheim) ranked #58 worldwide (overall score 66.4) in the publisher’s global ranking of full-time MBA programs; QS’s published table covers 424 programs. This is a worldwide program-ranking reference, not a domestic rank.[47]
- Known for
- Entrepreneurship, small international class, career centre
- Known for (full)
Read full evidenceHide
Triple accreditation (EQUIS, AACSB, FIBAA); an Englishlanguage MBA in Düsseldorf with a small, international class (about 40–50 students, around 80% international, about 40% women; average age 29 and average work experience five years on WHU’s program page). The experiential curriculum includes roughly 30 days of international modules, a Kellogg School of Management module, leadership development, and a social-entrepreneurship project. WHU also emphasizes individual career coaching and its alumni/employer network.[48][49]
Class profile
- Class size
- 40 to 50
- Average age
- 29
- Average experience
- 5 years
- Women
- About 40%
- International
- About 80%
Placements and careers
- Salary
- Average EUR 83,304 excl. bonus
- Salary increase
- 66%
- Career switching
- 56% location, 63% sector, 47% function, 16% all three
- Report year
- Not stated
- Outcome details (full)
Read full evidenceHide
WHU’s current MBA Career Center page reports for Full-Time MBA graduates an average post-MBA salary of €83,304 excluding bonuses and an average 66% salary increase; 56% changed location, 63% changed sector, 47% changed function, and 16% changed all three. The page does not identify the cohort/graduation year, define the salary comparison period, or state an employment/ placement rate; these figures should not be presented as a cohort-specific placement rate.[53]
- Post-study work visa
- 18-month job-seeker residence permit. Web: verify current rules before relying on this.Web, Oct 2026
Eligibility
- Degree
- Bachelor's degree plus university entrance qualification
- Minimum experience
- 2 years postgraduate
- English
- TOEFL iBT 100 or IELTS 7.0 (6.5 per section)
- Current employment needed
- Not required
- Employer sponsorship
- Not required
- Special documents
- APS certificate for Indian applicants
- References
- 1 recommendation
- Eligibility details (full)
Read full evidenceHide
Full-Time MBA admission requires a bachelor’s degree or equivalent, at least two years of postgraduate work experience, proof of English proficiency when English is not the applicant’s native language, and one Excellent Fit category. Her B.E. and nearly nine years of Accenture experience meet the stated degree/experience threshold; being resigned is not listed as disqualifying. For an Indian applicant, WHU states an APS certificate is required (current listed deadline April 30); applicants needing a visa have a listed May 31 deadline. The EMBA is different: WHU describes it as alongside a current full-time job or self-employment, with participants continuing in their roles. The EMBA site does not establish that she must be employed on the application date, but if she remains unemployed through enrollment it conflicts with the program design. Company sponsorship is not shown as a universal admissions prerequisite; employer support is optional, though an EMBA application calls for professional recommendations, including one from a supervisor/close colleague.[49][54]
My profile fit
- Fit rank
- #7 (International)
- Eligibility verdict
- Meets published criteria
- Experience vs cohort
- About 9 yrs vs 5 yr average
- Main risks and trade-offs
- APS processing time; start and fee not year-specific
- Why it fits (full)
Read full evidenceHide
The one-year immersive format matches her duration preference and creates a structured career pivot after Accenture Technology. Her engineering education and technology-delivery experience give her a credible basis for a technology-management, digital-transformation, product, or consulting goal; the MBA adds finance, strategy, leadership, international exposure, and career coaching. At age 30 she is close to the stated class average, and her Indian technology-sector experience could add perspective to a diverse cohort. She is more experienced than the page’s five-year class average, so she should demonstrate leadership scope and explain why a full-time MBA, not an EMBA, is the right next step. The EMBA is better suited to senior managers who remain employed, but is two years and its stated candidate profile asks for extensive managerial experience.[48][53]
- Profile fit (earlier round)
- Not in research
- Actions to strengthen
Read full evidenceHide
1. Prepare and take the GMAT; ask WHU in writing whether its 555 recommendation for post-May-2023 tests refers to the current GMAT Focus scale, and submit the official score under the GMAT route. 2. Obtain the APS certificate early; WHU’s current schedule lists April 30 for Indian applicants requiring APS. Confirm the exact 2027 intake deadline, and plan around the listed May 31 visa deadline if applicable. 3. Complete the required English test if applicable: WHU lists TOEFL iBT 100 or IELTS 7.0 overall (with stated section minimums on its admissions page). 4. Use a former Accenture manager as the recommendation writer and quantify delivery outcomes, client impact, team leadership, mentoring, and cross-functional influence rather than relying on the Senior Analyst title alone. 5. Build a focused post-MBA career plan, such as digital transformation/product leadership or technology consulting, and explain why this 12-month full-time MBA is needed now, including the rationale for choosing it over an employed-professional EMBA. 6. Submit all degree certificates and transcripts, CV, motivation/career-goal essays, and the required recommendation; map engineering coursework and Accenture work clearly to business impact. 7. Apply early enough for visa processing and explore WHU’s listed scholarships, including its Scholarship for Women in Business and diversity/professional-experience awards; confirm current eligibility and deadlines.[49][50]
- Open questions to confirm
Read full evidenceHide
Research cutoff: October 3, 2026. ‘Qualified’ means the program and GMAT route satisfy the requested selection rules, not that admission is guaranteed. The 2027 Full-Time MBA start is a September inference, not a published year-specific date. Tuition is the current web-listed amount with no intake year stated. The living-cost figure is Germany’s blocked-account minimum, not a Düsseldorf-specific budget. WHU’s public salary and career-change summary gives no cohort year or placement rate. The GMAT 555 recommendation is not explicitly marked Focus and is not a minimum; no legacy-scale recommendation or cohort GMAT statistics are published. Confirm all intake details and score-scale interpretation directly with WHU.[47][51]
Full dossier
WHU – Otto Beisheim School of Management, WHU Full-Time MBA
Selection rationale / priority comparison
WHU’s Full-Time MBA is 12 months and meets the fallback priority. The Kellogg-WHU Executive MBA is a two-year part-time program, not a one-year or 18-month option, and is designed for participants who continue full-time employment/self-employment. Since the candidate has resigned, the EMBA is a poor practical fit unless she resumes work; the full-time MBA has no published current-employment requirement. WHU expressly accepts GMAT as one route through its Full-Time MBA Excellent Fit Assessment.[48][54]
Next 2027 start / intake
Likely September 2027, inferred from the current Full-Time MBA page’s recurring September start and current-cycle application schedule. WHU had not explicitly published a year-specific 2027 Full-Time MBA start date as of October 3, 2026; reconfirm dates and APS/visa deadlines with WHU.[48][49]
GMAT admissions policy
The current Full-Time MBA policy requires candidates to satisfy one of five Excellent Fit categories; GMAT is expressly accepted in the external-test category, alongside other tests/ certifications. Thus GMAT is a valid route but is not universally mandatory if another category is met. For India, this assessment uses only the GMAT route, not CAT. The current WHU sheet recommends 555 or higher for GMAT tests taken after May 2023, but calls this a recommendation, not a minimum or cutoff.[50]
GMAT Focus score evidence
WHU’s September 22, 2026 Excellent Fit sheet recommends 555+ for GMAT tests taken after May 2023. It does not explicitly label that recommendation as GMAT Focus, and it is not a required minimum. No Full-Time MBA cohort GMAT mean/average, median, published range, minimum, or maximum is stated in the current official admissions materials. Do not treat the recommendation as cohort statistics or a cut-off.[50]
Legacy GMAT score evidence
The current WHU policy does not publish a separate legacy-scale GMAT recommendation or a legacy-to-current score conversion. The only stated reference is 555+ for tests taken after May 2023; WHU does not name the scale in the sheet. Do not equate that figure with a legacy GMAT score without written admissions confirmation.[50]
Profile-specific GMAT Focus target (advisory)
No unambiguous Focus-specific competitive target is published. A transparent provisional target is at least 555 only if WHU confirms that its post-May-2023 recommendation applies to the current GMAT Focus exam; treat 555 as WHU’s recommended level, not an admission floor. WHU publishes no class average/median/range from which to justify a higher numeric target. Emphasize strong section-level performance, especially quantitative and data reasoning, without claiming a cut-off.[47][50]
Tuition, fees and included items
€49,500 on WHU’s fee page as available on October 3, 2026; the page does not identify a specific 2027 intake/fee year, so confirm before budgeting. Includes tuition, books/ materials, accommodation and half-board during international modules, and German classes. Excludes flights and visa costs for international modules. Published early-bird discounts are conditional on complete applications and deadlines.[51]
Living-cost estimate and basis
For a 12-month stay in Düsseldorf, WHU’s student-experience page reports the German blocked-account minimum as roughly €11,904/year (€992/month), last updated September 2024. This is a national visa-maintenance floor, not a Düsseldorf-specific living-cost estimate; actual rent and living expenses can be higher. WHU separately gives public health-insurance costs of about €120–130/month for international students over 30 or using that option.[49][51]
Worldwide program ranking
QS Global MBA Rankings 2027: WHU (Otto Beisheim) ranked #58 worldwide (overall score 66.4) in the publisher’s global ranking of full-time MBA programs; QS’s published table covers 424 programs. This is a worldwide program-ranking reference, not a domestic rank.[47]
What the school/program is known for
Triple accreditation (EQUIS, AACSB, FIBAA); an Englishlanguage MBA in Düsseldorf with a small, international class (about 40–50 students, around 80% international, about 40% women; average age 29 and average work experience five years on WHU’s program page). The experiential curriculum includes roughly 30 days of international modules, a Kellogg School of Management module, leadership development, and a social-entrepreneurship project. WHU also emphasizes individual career coaching and its alumni/employer network.[48][49]
Placement and career outcomes
WHU’s current MBA Career Center page reports for Full-Time MBA graduates an average post-MBA salary of €83,304 excluding bonuses and an average 66% salary increase; 56% changed location, 63% changed sector, 47% changed function, and 16% changed all three. The page does not identify the cohort/graduation year, define the salary comparison period, or state an employment/ placement rate; these figures should not be presented as a cohort-specific placement rate.[53]
Work, employment and eligibility conditions
Full-Time MBA admission requires a bachelor’s degree or equivalent, at least two years of postgraduate work experience, proof of English proficiency when English is not the applicant’s native language, and one Excellent Fit category. Her B.E. and nearly nine years of Accenture experience meet the stated degree/experience threshold; being resigned is not listed as disqualifying. For an Indian applicant, WHU states an APS certificate is required (current listed deadline April 30); applicants needing a visa have a listed May 31 deadline. The EMBA is different: WHU describes it as alongside a current full-time job or self-employment, with participants continuing in their roles. The EMBA site does not establish that she must be employed on the application date, but if she remains unemployed through enrollment it conflicts with the program design. Company sponsorship is not shown as a universal admissions prerequisite; employer support is optional, though an EMBA application calls for professional recommendations, including one from a supervisor/close colleague.[49][54]
Why this option could fit the profile
The one-year immersive format matches her duration preference and creates a structured career pivot after Accenture Technology. Her engineering education and technology-delivery experience give her a credible basis for a technology-management, digital-transformation, product, or consulting goal; the MBA adds finance, strategy, leadership, international exposure, and career coaching. At age 30 she is close to the stated class average, and her Indian technology-sector experience could add perspective to a diverse cohort. She is more experienced than the page’s five-year class average, so she should demonstrate leadership scope and explain why a full-time MBA, not an EMBA, is the right next step. The EMBA is better suited to senior managers who remain employed, but is two years and its stated candidate profile asks for extensive managerial experience.[48][53]
Caveats, open questions and verification points
Research cutoff: October 3, 2026. ‘Qualified’ means the program and GMAT route satisfy the requested selection rules, not that admission is guaranteed. The 2027 Full-Time MBA start is a September inference, not a published year-specific date. Tuition is the current web-listed amount with no intake year stated. The living-cost figure is Germany’s blocked-account minimum, not a Düsseldorf-specific budget. WHU’s public salary and career-change summary gives no cohort year or placement rate. The GMAT 555 recommendation is not explicitly marked Focus and is not a minimum; no legacy-scale recommendation or cohort GMAT statistics are published. Confirm all intake details and score-scale interpretation directly with WHU.[47][51]